Category: Compositions

2016 Come Back (Again), adaptation of Come Back for gayageum and string ensemble

Commissioned by the Asian Cultural Institute to celebrate the first anniversary of the Asia Culture Center, Gwangju, South Korea.   Premiered at the Asia Culture Center by the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble conducted by Andrea Choa on November 26, 2016.

Approx. duration: 7 minutes.

2015 Catálogo Fantástico, for symphony orchestra

Commissioned by The University of Chicago with funds provided by the Leona Bachrach Gerard Endowment Funs for     Music.  Premiered at The University of Chicago Mandel Hall by the University of          Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Barbara Schubert, June 2, 2016.

Approx. duration: 28 minutes.

Instrumentation: 3343-4331-timp, 4 perc., harp, pn – strings 

2015 The Wort [Empanadas] in London, for piano

Commissioned by Anthony de Mare with funds provided by Music in the Loft, Chicago, for the collective Liaisons: Re-Imagining Sondheim from the Piano.   

Approx. duration: 5 minutes.

2014 Come Back, for soprano and Korean gayageum

Commissioned by the Young-Nam Composers’ Association (YNCA), Daegu, South Korea, for premiere at the 16th YNCA International Contemporary Music Festival on November 7, 2014. Text by Constantine P. Cavafy.

Approx. duration: 5:30 minutes.

2014 Olokun’s Awakening, for symphony orchestra

First scene of Symphonic Scenes of Chacumbele. Premiered by the Oberlin Conservatory Orchestra conducted by Raphael Jiménez on September 27, 2014.

Approx. duration: 9:00 minutes.

Instrumentation: 3233 (sop. sax) -4221- timp, 2 perc., harp, pn – strings **

2014 Passacaglia Unrest, for string orchestra

Commissioned by the Dali Quartet Summer Camp and Festival. Premiered by the Festival’s Pre-College Orchestra conducted by Raphael Jiménez on August 10, 2014 at Irving Auditorium, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

Approx. duration: 6:00 minutes.

2013 Lejanía (Far-offness), for two trumpets, one doubling on flugelhorn

Commissioned and premiered by Pamela Smitter and Bill Baxtresser on November 19, 2013 at Cook Recital Hall, Michigan State University.

Approx. duration: 7 minutes.

2012 Habanera Science, for string orchestra

Composed for the Dali Quartet 2012  Summer Camp and Festival Pre-College Orchestra.  Premiere conducted by Eddie Marcano on August 12, 2012 in Lansdale, PA.

Approx. duration: 5:30 minutes.

2012 Cacerola Soul, for choir and chamber ensemble

Work for SATB choir and mixed ensemble inspired by pot banging protests common in South America.  Text by Alfredo Pérez.  Commissioned by The Iberian and Latin American Music Society (ILAMS) and premiered on May 3, 2012 at the Purcell Room, South Bank Center, London, UK.

Approx. duration: 11 minutes

1010-0110- 4 perc., pn, SATB (optional rapper), vln, D.B.

2011 Not my Lover, for tenor trombone and string trio

Especially composed for MSU’s Musique 21 Ensemble for a program titled “Return Flight” conceived around György Ligeti’s Musica Ricercata. Premiered on November 29, 2011 by trombonist Steven Kandow and Musque 21 at Snyder Hall, Michigan State University.

Approx. duration: 3:30 minutes.

Panorama theme by Themocracy